There are two ways to recertify: by recertification journal and by examination.

Online Recertification Journal: Obtain a minimum of 18 recertification units during your three-year certification period.  Document them in your online recertification journal.

Go to to access your journal.  Note that you will need to log in at first.

Fill out and submit your journal online directly to the ASQ recertification coordinator.  Note that if you wish to synchronize your certifications, you will need to fill out a paper recertification journal, including your supporting documentation, and submit it to the ASQ recertification coordinator.

Examination: Sit for the exam. (Required if your certification expired and is past the six-month grace period.)

Do I Need to Recertify? ASQ requires that you recertify the following certifications every three (3) years to ensure that you maintain the same level of knowledge demonstrated in your first exam.

•  Biomedical Auditor
•  Calibration Technician
•  HACCP Auditor
•  Manager of Quality/Organizational Excellence
•  Master Black Belt
•  Pharmaceutical GMP Professional
•  Quality Auditor
•  Quality Engineer
•  Reliability Engineer
•  Software Quality Engineer
•  Six Sigma Black Belt
•  ASQ/DON Lean Six Sigma Black Belt

NOTE:  Quality Inspector, Quality Improvement Associate, Quality Process Analyst, Quality Technician, and Six Sigma Green Belt are lifetime certifications.  They have no recertification requirements.

For more information about ASQ recertification, please refer to this link:  ASQ Recertification